Any thoughts on the blog design?

I’m experimenting with some changes to the blog’s look. I wanted to keep the old look but with three columns instead of two (kind of like what Barney Leith switched to a short time ago), but WordPress.com doesn’t provide that option. So I’m trying this one out. Any thoughts, feelings, concerns? Do you prefer the old look or the new, or are you indifferent?

As one might expect, I believe in the divine right of bloggers. I’ll just do what I want anyway, but don’t let that stop you from speaking up. We live in a democracy, after all.

The sidebars et cetera will be in a state of disarray for a few days, but posting and commenting will continue as normal.

5 Responses

  1. I kinda like the new format, personally.

  2. It’s clean, loads quickly and is very intuitive – so probably no change there – but I still think it’s an improvement.

    St. Edith Stein continues to look unconvinced that she should pray for us. That needs improvement.

    And, now that you mention it, the garbage trucks in this town are ‘way too loud – what are you going to do about that?

  3. I kinda like the new format, personally.

    I’m inclined to agree. I really dig the sans serif, among other things.

    St. Edith Stein continues to look unconvinced that she should pray for us. That needs improvement.

    If you mean the expression on her face, I’m afraid there’s not much I can do about that. She comes from an era when people didn’t smile in posed pictures. And anyway, she was an intellectual, and you know how they are.

    If you mean the jaunty hat, then we’ll have to agree to disagree. I used this picture specifically because of how rad the hat is.

    But if you have ideas for other pictures of Edith Stein, I’d be happy to change it. In fact, your suggestion gives me an idea. Maybe I can start replacing her picture periodically.

  4. Hi Jonah,

    I probably should have included a smiley. My statement about St Edith Stein was meant to act as a bridge between my sensible suggestions and my completely out-to-lunch ravings in the third. I was aiming for something at the level of shared ignorance.

    I love the photo – St Edith Stein’s pensive and thoughtful look says, to me at least, “What am I doing here in a Baha’i-Catholic Blog?” — and the jaunty hat reminds me that she didn’t take orders until she was in her forties.

  5. Fair enough. :-)

Leave a Reply

