The Faith on the radio

George Wesley at Baha’i Views has a post about song lyrics, and how every song can sound like it’s about Baha’u’llah. That was certainly true of me when I was Baha’i.

I remember especially the summer of 1998 when Semisonic’s “Closing Time” was a big hit. It’d come on the radio as I drove home from a fireside or from Feast, and I’d sing along and think about Baha’u’llah.

Closing time
Open all the doors and let you out into the world
Closing time
Turn all of the lights on over every boy and every girl

Naturally this is about the new dispensation ushered in by the Twin Manifestations, opening the doors of knowledge and emblazoning the light of divine illumination.

Closing time
One last call for alcohol so finish your whiskey or beer
Closing time
You don’t have to go home but you can’t stay here

“You can’t stay here,” Baha’u’llah says, “in the old mindset. You have to leave that behind and embrace the new Day that’s dawning.”

I know who I want to take me home
I know who I want to take me home
I know who I want to take me home

Baha’u’llah, that’s who.

Thanks for bringing back some old memories, Mr. Wesley.

Leave a Reply

